Entry #5 April 7

touchedThis book … Dr. Jamison has done it again.

I found this second book on manic depressive that she’s written and picked it up and Barnes and Noble last week and I’m glad I brought it with me today.  Dr. Jamison has officially moved into hero territory for me at this point.  In this book, she talks more about the propensity of bipolar to hit artists, composers, authors, and poets than people in other “categories.”

Much less than in an “An Unquiet Mind,” (see what I wrote about it here This book …Touched with Fire is a scientific look at the illness.  It’s a much slower read because of that, but it’s also more deliberate for me than when I read her memoir.  It’s gratifying to see that I’m in good company with other manic depressives:

  • Edgar Allen Poe
  • Hector Berlioz
  • William Cowper
  • Virginia Woolf
  • And many more …

It’s also good to see that I’m living in an era when I don’t have to be immediately consigned to a sanitarium to be forgotten because of my diagnosis.  God has given me a support system and stools and a way to get better.  It’s not comfortable.  It’s not fun.  It’s necessary though, so here I am.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

