What’s in a name??

What’s in a name?  That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” 

 – William Shakespeare 

John William Walter IV

John William Walter III

Megan Michelle Walter

Aubrey Michelle Walter

Lore Emilie Bauer 

Lillian Emilie Walter

Bipolar disorder 

Manic depressive illness

Personality disorder 

Schizophrenia 

Deep breath … what’s in name??  What does it matter?? 

I prefer the term manic depressive.  Bipolar is too general and has a much more negative connotation in our society.   It just sounds gross.  I go by Will while my Dad goes by John.  Megan shares a name with Aubrey, and Lilly shares a name with my grandma Walter.  

What’s in a name? 

One of the grounding tools I have is to name something about myself that I love.   This is part of an exercise that I go through at least once daily to stave off any panic or anxiety attacks – and it has worked.  I make a concerted effort to name a different thing every time I go through it.  

Today – I love that I am equal parts of where I came from.   I share a name and many things with the Walter side, from John III and John II, and that’s why family history ha seven so fun with dad.  I also share a love of life, and my good natured ways, and my look perhaps? – from the Vance side.   Many people I trust tell me I look like my Moms dad.   

What’s in a name?  I know who I am, and where I’ve come from.  PS: this is my grandfather, on moms side 74 years ago.  Do we look alike?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

