D-day Anniversary 2017 – Celebrated in the Hedgerows of my mind.

dday

73 years ago this morning, the world changed.  Up to that day, the balance of power in the world was very much still in question.  Up to that day, the outcome of World War II was very much still in question.  Up to that day, the western allies were struggling to get any real traction in Italy and as such, weren’t doing much real damage to the Nazi war efforts.

Beginning with airborne combat troop drops overnight, the allied troops started landing on the beaches at 6:30 AM.  There had been a massive naval and aerial bombardment, and it was time to begin.

The history books will tell you what happens next.  Valor, and not just American valor, was the word of the day as men fought against the Germans and won.  It took 11 months to finish the job.  It took sweat and effort and lives and blood, but the job was finished and freedom was restored to the world.

Two months ago, at about 6:30 AM, I finalized my check in at a mental health institution for care of my bipolar diagnosis.  For me, that was my D-Day.   The car ride to the facility was hell.  The walk to the front of the building was the trip up the beach.  Watching a door lock behind me and seeing that I could not get out again, without someone opening the door for me was a scary, stark vision of where I really was and what I was going through.

I’m honest enough to say that I didn’t fight in combat.  I didn’t see anyone around me lose their lives.  But that was my D-Day.  That was my turning point, nonetheless.  I’m glad the move succeeded and paid off.  I hit that beach and took off, attacking my illness and finding ways to work through all that comes with it.  Just like the men on the beaches of Normandy, I had to go 100% at it, or my actions would fail.

So here I am two months later.  If you know history, you know that the Allied forces slowed down after their initial landings.  That’s where I feel like I’m at right now in a sense, stuck in the hedgerows of my mind.  I’ll take it literally though, and say that I feel like I’m due for another breakout.

The morning of June 6 at home in the United States, President Roosevelt gave his now famous D-Day speech and offered his D-Day prayer, which holds a lot of application in how I feel about my situation today:

” … because the road is long and the desire is great, I ask that our people devote themselves in a continuance of prayer. As we rise to each new day, and again when each day is spent, let words of prayer be on our lips …”

“O Lord, give us Faith. Give us Faith in Thee; Faith in our sons; Faith in each other; Faith in our united crusade. Let not the keenness of our spirit ever be dulled. Let not the impacts of temporary events, of temporal matters of but fleeting moment let not these deter us in our unconquerable purpose.”

I trust in God, my friends.  I have faith, that though He has given me this trial, and this difficulty in my life, He will give me the strength to overcome and to be a source of strength for others.  I love that last line … let not the impacts of temporal events of but fleeting moment deter us in our unconquerable purpose.  When I focus on conquering my demons – I will win.  I have unconquerable purpose and resolve to be successful here.

With that driving me, I will win.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

